You’re my First Mate!

I can’t believe summer is already here! Looking forward to lots of sun and water this year.  The following card was inspired by this adorable outfit from the Martha Stewart pet collection:

pet

And of course, my adorable little Scotties:

mate3

It took me forever to put this card together and I struggled to find the right alphabet set for the cute sentiment.  Anyone ever have this problem?! The red striped pattern paper is actually from Martha Stewart’s Valentine’s day collection which fits perfectly with the nautical theme.

mate1

Here you can see the dimension added to the card.

mate2

I hand cut the banner for the sentiment and used my (beloved) silhouette for the boat and anchor.  Then a few sprinkles of enamel dots to finish up the card! Happy Sailing to all the Scotties!

UPDATE:

After completing the post, I couldn’t help but adding a few more finishing touches.  I thought the anchor looked a little lonely so I made a little lifesaver to keep it company. Then, I added some black stitching around the card and enamel dots to the water! Adorable!

mate4

Leave a Reply

