Restoration Crafting

I was completely inspired by this post of Carissa Wiley’s craft room. Simply amazing!

be779bc96d9c14154b048f38ae85df8fa6df32d2

I have been storing my little stamping embellishments in this old spice rack (Remember this craft storage post):

spicestorage2

And though it has been great for saving space, I don’t remember to use these embellishments! (Out of sight out of mind.)  I found this frame and decided to do a little “craft restoration.”   The gold was actually pretty but it doesn’t match my craft space.

frame1

I was so nervous to paint this frame because it was the first time I have ever done such a big project.  Supplies needed:  Paint can, brush, cardboard box, rubber gloves, and a paint stick.  I learned that you need to stir the paint before using it.  (Thanks Shawn!) Who knew?!

frame2

For this frame, I painted two layers to give it a nice coat and coverage.  It took the first layer about 2 hours to dry and then I left the frame to dry over night after applying the second coat of paint.  I made a mistake and put a thumb print in one corner because I was too eager to get the project finished!

frame3

Afterwards, my little helper screwed in little round hooks onto the back of the frame and wrapped wires around the hooks. (My Scottie is very crafty!) Here is a good youtube video on this!

frame4

TA DA! My finished picture frame craft storage! I used little bags for my embellishments and small paper clips!  This is so cool! I can’t believe I made it all by myself! The last thing I need to do is get some saw tooth hangers and get it attached on my craft wall!

Looking forward to more craft restoration projects!

UPDATE:

Here is the picture frame craft storage mounted on the wall! I left some space between the second and third rows just in case I needed to clip on larger bags.  For now, it looks fantastic!

frame5

One thought on “Restoration Crafting

  1. So glad I could be of assistance for your project! Luv ya lots!

Leave a Reply

